You can share calendars between your organization members, which makes planning and coordination simpler. However, the extent to which we can share our calendars is determined by Outlook calendar permission levels. Don’t worry if you haven’t heard of calendar permissions— that’s the focus of this post.
Guide to Outlook calendar permission levels:
- None: Viewers cannot see or interact with the calendar.
- Can view when I’m busy: Viewers can see when you’re free, but not titles or locations.
- Can view titles and locations: Viewers can see scheduled events, titles, and locations.
- Can view all details: Viewers can see scheduled events and all their associated events.
- Can edit: Viewers can see and edit all your calendar content.
In this post, you will find an extensive explanation of Outlook’s five calendar permission levels and what they allow you to do. You can also discover our in-depth, step-by-step guide to updating your own calendar’s permission level. If you run into any problems, contact us in the comment section below.
You can use the following links to access the post’s content quickly
- What are Outlook’s calendar permission levels
- How do I change my calendar’s sharing permissions
- Blog post recap
We’ve also created a video to help you understand the permission levels in Outlook:
Calendly – Outlook Meeting scheduler
Add date ranges and buffer times to the schedule. Integrates with Zoom, MS Teams, Google Meet, and GoToMeeting!
What are Outlook’s calendar permissions levels
An Outlook calendar’s permission level dictates the level of access you’re granted to the calendar. At the lowest permission level, you cannot see or interact with the calendar’s content. However, at the highest permission level, you can access all aspects of the calendar as though it were your own.
If you cannot access a team member’s calendar, consider requesting they elevate the sharing permission level for their calendar.
As the name implies, the “None” permission level allows viewers zero access to your calendar. In short, viewers cannot see or interact with scheduled events or their respective data.
Can view when I’m busy
When a viewer with this permission looks at your calendar, they will see your scheduled events. However, they cannot see the event’s title or any additional information regarding the said event. Viewers with this permission can also see when you are free by observing when you do not have events scheduled.
Can view titles and locations
This permission works much like the prior permission, although viewers with this permission can learn more about the events they see. Take the event’s title and location, for instance. With this permission, viewers will know when you’re busy and why.
Can view all details
When using this permission, a viewer can see each event you have scheduled and its associated details, such as title, description, location, and attendance. Some users may consider this much information to be sensitive or private.
This permission grants the highest level of access: you can create new events and edit or delete existing ones. You additionally retain the permissions provided by lower permission levels.
How do I change my calendar’s sharing permissions
In the below guide, I have clearly illustrated the steps needed to access and change your Outlook calendar’s sharing permission level. In doing so, you can control the extent to which colleagues can observe and interact with your calendar.
Step 1 — Start Outlook
The following guide requires the desktop version of Outlook. The best method for acquiring the desktop version is with a Microsoft 365 subscription. You can then sign in at Office.com and download all available apps. To do that, click “Install apps” in the top right and select “Premium Microsoft 365 apps” from the dropdown list.
To open Outlook, press the Start/Win key and type “Outlook.” You must then select “Open” in the result card or “Outlook” under “Best match.”
Step 2 — Access the Outlook calendar page
Find and click the calendar icon. You will find the icon in the bottom right of your screen. After you click the icon, Outlook will reveal the Calendar page— this is where you can view and interact with your calendars.
Step 3 — Open your Outlook calendar
Under the ribbon, you will find the “Share Calendar” dropdown. Open the dropdown, and select “Calendar” under the email of your choice. If you have connected multiple emails to your mailbox, you will find several options.
Step 4 — Reconfigure your calendar permissions
You will find a tab bar at the top of the “Calendar Properties” window. Select “Permissions” via the tab bar. Alternatively, use the
Ctrl+Tab shortcut to cycle between tabs. From the Permissions tab, you select one of five permission levels.
Blog post recap
Outlook calendar permissions allow you to control how team members interact with your Outlook calendar. The lowest permission level makes your calendar’s content inaccessible, whereas the highest level makes your calendar’s content accessible and mutable.
If you found this post helpful, consider reading the following related posts:
- How to give someone access to manage my Outlook calendar
- How to stop all Outlook meetings defaulting to Teams meetings
- How to share a group contact list (distribution group) in Outlook
- How to change the display sender name in Outlook: Desktop and cloud version walkthroughs