How to stop notifications when sharing your screen in Microsoft Teams


When you are in a meeting, the last thing you want is for a notification to pop up and disturb the process. This can be especially annoying if you are presenting your screen to your audience as users hear the notification chime and see the pop-up banner you have for your notifications in the corner. In this blog, I will show you how to stop any form of notifications from disturbing your meeting when you are sharing your screen in Microsoft Teams.  

Below is a step-by-step guide on turning off notifications when you are presenting your screen to an audience in Microsoft Teams. To achieve this, you need to turn your availability mode to “do not disturb” what this will do is deflect all your notifications until you are done presenting your meeting; read through for more information.  

  • Firstly, open Microsoft Teams.  
  • Now click on your profile picture.  
  • There will be a drop-down next to your status; click on it.  
  • Finally, change the setting to “do not disturb.”  

Once the steps above have been completed, you will have successfully stopped notifications from disturbing you when you are presenting your screen in Microsoft Teams. If you go back into your meeting and start sharing your screen, a pop-up will be displayed informing you that any notification that arrives during the duration of the screen sharing will not be present as a pop-up on your screen. The banner will also allow you to change the settings, which mainly includes features around adding priority access to users who may require it, for instance, any urgent messages from a company executive.  

In-depth step by step guide [with screenshots] – How to stop notifications when sharing your screen in Teams  

Below I have included a more in-depth guide on stopping notifications from disturbing your meetings when you are sharing a screen in Microsoft Teams. The guide includes a more in-depth process representation that includes screenshots, giving you more context on the step-by-step guide above. Read through for more information on how you can stop notifications from disturbing you when you are presenting a screen in Microsoft Teams.  

  • Firstly, open Microsoft Teams.  

For this process, you can use both the browser and the desktop version of Microsoft Teams to proceed with stopping notifications from disturbing a meeting. Use the normal login credentials you have for Office 365; once you have logged into Office 365 for the browser version, you will then be able to access Microsoft Teams from the launcher; from there, you can proceed with the steps illustrated ahead.  

  • Now click on your profile picture.

Your profile picture is in the top right corner of the display; once you are on the Microsoft Teams dashboard, you will need to click on it to access your availability settings and complete the steps ahead.  

  • Click on your current availability to reveal a list of presence options.  

The text showing your availability is quite small; however, once you find it, click on it and proceed with the following steps. 

  • Finally, change the setting to “Do not disturb.” 

The final step is to set the availability settings “do not disturb.” That will prevent notifications while presenting a meeting. Once the meeting is complete, you can turn off this setting by changing the availability mode to “Available.”  

Once you’ve completed the steps above, you’ll have effectively blocked alerts from bothering you when displaying your screen in Microsoft Teams. If you return to your meeting and begin sharing your screen, a pop-up will appear telling you that any notifications that occur during the screen sharing will not be displayed as a pop-up on your screen. The banner will also offer you the ability to adjust the settings, which mostly contain elements for giving priority access to individuals who may need it, such as any urgent communications from a corporate official. 

Why would you want to stop notifications from disturbing a meeting when you are presenting your screen in Microsoft Teams?  

You may be wondering what’s the reason why you may want to stop notifications from disturbing a meeting when you are sharing your screen. One of the main reasons why you may want to stop notifications from disturbing your meeting is reasons surrounding privacy. The notification banner that Microsoft Teams displays include the name of the sender; sometimes, the sender may wish to remain anonymous and may not want to have bits of information being presented in a meeting without any formal notice. This could potentially cause issues surrounding a breach of data and the breaking of current GDPR rules in Europe.  

Another reason is that it could cause a visual disturbance when you are presenting a meeting to your audience; when you are presenting content on-screen, sharing the banner may potentially cause visual obstruction in the corner. This would cause an attention span to break and may impact the user’s ability to focus further on the screen, sharing content when being disturbed by constant inputs from meeting-related notifications.  

Are the changes instantaneous when you set the availability mode to “do not disturb” in Microsoft Teams?  

When you set the availability to “do not disturb” in Microsoft Teams, Changes will be set automatically to reflect on the option you have chosen. So now, when you go into your meeting and share your screen, you will not have to worry about whether the changes have been applied or not.  

Conclusion

Thank you for taking time out to read our blog; we hope the content illustrated above has answered the question of how you can stop notifications when sharing a screen in Microsoft Teams. If there are any issues you come across when trying to follow this guide, simply add a comment, and we will aim to resolve any queries you may have. 

Recent Posts

Skimlinks Test